Wackers Pet Shop and DVC win in Enniskillen

Another successful Fermanagh Volleyball Tournament at the Fermanagh Lakeland Fourm, there were high antics both on and off the court from all the usual suspects.

A smaller number of enteries were taken this year possibly due to the dreaded credit crunch there were a total of 20 team -12 ladies and 8 mens teams, this ment however that matches were 15 minutes each set instead of the usual ten giving everyone more court time.

All teams officiated each others matches and all the games were played in excellent spirit.

The mens main competition was won by Wackers pet shop, they beat Dublin Volleyball club in the closely contested final on Sunday afternoon. Meanwhile in the Womens competion Dublin Volleyball Club came through victorious winners against QUB.

The Plate competition winners in the mens competition were Team Zimmer, as the name suggests Team Zimmer are Gentlemen of a distinguished age who have been attending the tournament since its beginning. They beat Ballymoney Blaze an up and coming young mens team, some of whom play on the under 19 NI volleyball squad and one to watch for the future. The Ladies plate was won by Ballumun Patriots, they beat St Raphaels a school team from Galway.

Most valuable player awards were sponsored by Terry McCartney- Belmore Court Motel, the Womens winner was Nicole Horseman – DVC and in the mens It was Glen Malone from Wackers Pet Shop.

The annual Fancy Dress party was held in Willie Ramblers on saturday night- the theme was anything beginning with P!!!!!

Team Zimmer again victorious with their Post Man Pat and Presents Idea.

The organisers Skea Spikers, would like to thank all teams who took part in the tournament and look forward to seeing them all again next year. They would also like to thank the Sponsors of the tournament Fermanagh District Council and Terry McCartney For sponsoring the Most Valuable Player Award.

Main Competition
Mens Winners- Wackers Pet Shop 2  0 v UCD
Womens Winners- Dublin Volleyball Club DVC 2 0 v QUB

Plate Competition
Mens Winners- Team Zimmer 2 0 v Ballymoney Blaze
Womens Winners Ballymun Patriots BMP 2 0 v St Raphaels Galway

Editor's choice
St. Patricks Weekend, Celtic Nations
St. Patricks Weekend, Celtic Nations
Sports Awards